Growth Street Review

All investments made on the Growth Street platform are in secured working capital loans to UK businesses (secured against all business assets). The platform offers a provision fund and seeks to further mitigate risk via diversification.

If you decide to invest after reading my Growth Street review, I would be grateful if you would use my referral link. In doing so, you will benefit from the current Growth Street cashback offer. I personally invested £2,000 in January 2019 and received my cashback in early February 2020.

Note: Growth Street has currently paused withdrawals and new investments due to COVID-19.

Growth Street - Secured Working Capital Loans
Growth Street P2P

Name: Growth Street

Description: Growth Street is currently offering a tiered cashback promotion. Invest £1,000 to get £50 cashback, £2,000 to get £100 cashback, £5,000 to get £200 cashback or £10,000 to get £500 cashback.

  • Returns
  • Safety
  • Time in business
  • Hands-off investing

Summary of Key Features

The key features of the Growth Street investment account are listed below.

Launch date2014
Estimated annual returns5.3%
Loan securityAll business assets alongside personal guarantees from directors
Provision fund
Early exit
Auto re-investment
Innovative Finance ISAX - Not currently available but recent communications suggest that an IFISA is imminent.
FCA regulationAuthorised
Cashback offer£50 when you invest £1,000 (5.0%), or higher if you invest £2,000, £5,000 or £10,000.
Sign-up linkSign-up

Detailed Growth Street Review

Growth Street launched in 2014 and first opened its doors to retail investors in 2016. The platform lends funds to UK business in the form of working capital loan facilities, secured against all business assets.

The below review is an unbiased summary of my thoughts on the Growth Street investment proposition.

Where does Growth Street invest my money?

All funds invested on the Growth Street platform are utilised for secured working capital loans.

At the time of writing, Growth Street lends to a total of 156 businesses with a total available facility of £32.4 million.

What investment options does Growth Street offer?

To keep it simple; Growth Street offer a singular investment option. There is one market rate which applies to all investments made on the platform (5.3% at the time of writing).

This market rate is the return that you as an investor will receive. The Growth Street platform profits from the difference between the total rate paid by the borrower and the market rate. The rate paid by borrowers can vary; but the return paid to investors is fixed. This is because any fluctuation in interest rate influences the marginal interest received by Growth Street.

How long is my money tied in?

GrowthStreet does not operate a secondary market. However, each individual loan features a 30 day term before it is ‘recycled’ on the Growth Street platform to other investors’. Therefore, provided the platform experiences no issues, your money should be available to withdraw with a short one month delay.

However, should you wish to take advantage of the cashback offer on sign-up; you will need to leave your capital untouched for a period of one year. For example, I invested £2,000 in late January 2019 and received my cashback in early February 2020.

How frequently is interest paid on the money I invest?

Interest accrues on a daily basis whilst your money is matched with borrowers – you can see the level of accrued interest in your investment dashboard. Interest is actually paid whenever a borrower makes a repayment.

How good is the website reporting?

I found the Growth Street dashboard straight-forward and easy-to-follow.

When logged into your account; you are greeted with a summary page which states the amount of capital you currently have on loan and the level of current interest accrued/paid to date.

If you click on the ‘active loans’ hyperlink, you are then taken to a page which states your contract start/end date along with the market rate you are earning for investing your funds (currently 5.3%).

Is money invested in Growth Street protected?

Growth Street Exchange Limited is authorised by the FCA (link). Authorised status does not mean that money invested is covered by the FSCS protection scheme which applies to banks, building societies and credit unions only. However, it does provide some comfort as authorised firms must comply with client asset rules which set out how firms hold and control client money.

Generally, it’s important to remember that investing in P2P lending is riskier than putting your money into a savings account. The two key risks are 1) borrowers do not repay on time and 2) Growth Street itself goes into administration. We discuss both of these scenarios below.

Borrowers do not repay – Investments made via the Growth Street platform are not tied to specific investments; rather each investor is exposed to the entire loan portfolio. A loan loss provision is held to cover any loans which fall into arrears. As always, a loan loss provision is not a guarantee as it depends on sufficient funds being held in the provision.

Use of the provision fund may not be required where repayment can be recovered from sale of the underlying security (all assets of the business). Even in the event of a depleted loan loss provision, Growth Street notes that investors would not be exposed to individual loans as all borrowers capital and interest contributions would be pooled and distributed proportionally to investors.    

Growth Street goes out of business – As an FCA authorised P2P firm, Growth Street is required to have a wind-down plan to enable the orderly wind-down of loan agreements. Contracts between borrowers and investors remain binding and investors’ money would remain separate to Growth Street’s money throughout the process. In January 2019, Growth Street announced that it had raised £7.5 million in private equity investment; suggesting it is financially supported at this point in time.

What data does Growth Street publicly provide investors?

Growth Street currently provides strong data to potential investors in the following areas:

  • # of borrowers
  • Working capital facility utilisation
  • Total value of loans outstanding vs. available facility.
  • Sector exposure
  • Historical performance of loan loss provision

We give Growth Street a big thumbs up in this area – this information is easily found on their website and provides a lot of data which can be used to inform investment decisions.

The most important data to pay attention to is the historical performance of the loan loss provision. This is the balance Growth Street would use if a business is unable to repay the loan. In 2017/18 there were some substantial claims relating to loans which Growth Street notes would no longer pass their pre-lending checks. At the time of writing; the cash balance of the loan loss provision is £1.2 million (February 2020). This represents 4.7% of total loans outstanding.

How easy is the sign-up process?

My experience was that it was very easy. As you would expect, the typical anti-money laundering checks are required, but once passed, your account can be open in minutes.

How can I pay money into my Growth Street account?

Transfers into your Growth Street account can currently only be made via bank transfer. Usually, my personal preference is to pay into my P2P accounts with my debit card in order to save time setting up a new payee in online banking. However, I found the Growth Street transfer process to be rather seamless with my deposit being received almost instantly, presumably due to the UK banking Faster Payments Service.

Growth Street claim that all deposits are cleared by the next working day at the latest.

Do Growth Street offer an IFISA?

Yes, you can invest in Growth Street via an IFISA. The only difference in your account will be that any interest earned will be tax-free.

What cashback does Growth Street offer its new investors?

Growth Streets’ current cashback rates offered are as follows:

  • £50 cashback for investments of over £1,000 (5.0%)
  • £100 cashback for investments of over £2,000 (5.0%)
  • £200 cashback for investments of over £5,000 (4.0%)
  • £500 cashback for investments of over £10,000 (5.0%)

If you decide to invest and you have found this review helpful; please do consider signing up via my referral link to benefit from the above cashback offers.

I personally made my first investment of £2,000 in Growth Street in late January 2019 and received my cashback in early February 2020 with no issues.


Leave a Reply